We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

  • Farm-to-Table Hotels: Where the Eats Are as Good as the Stay | Hideaway Reporthideawayreport.com
  • Vegan Forever | Luxury Vegan Dining Experiencesbelmond.com

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, French, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Legendary French chef Raymond Blanc presides over this iconic restaurant in a quintessentially English country house. You cannot help but fall in love ...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
Two MICHELIN Stars: Excellent cooking, worth a detour!
Extremely comfortable restaurant; one of our most delightful places.
About
Nestled amidst beautiful gardens in the rural Cotswolds countryside, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is a gourmet hotel in Oxfordshire. Located in the picturesque village of Great Milton, this luxury hotel combines breathtaking surroundings with gastronomic excellence. The quaint streets of Oxford city centre are a 20-minute drive, whilst London Heathrow Airport is 60km away. Home to Raymond Blanc's Cookery School, one of Britain's finest culinary academies, this enchanting hotel offers French-inspired cuisine at the 2 Michelin-starred restaurant. Using only the best seasonal produce, freshly picked from the hotel's extensive vegetable and herb gardens, guests are invited to embark on an
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
French, European, British
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (2,510)
Filter reviews
2,453 results
Traveller rating
2,065
225
112
37
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
2,065
225
112
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu petit fours amuse bouche hens egg confit bread langoustines sorbet crab cheese board lamb raymond blanc special occasion vegetable garden wine flight pre lunch drinks an aperitif
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

The atmosphere, care taken, and not least the food were all superb! Service was excellent and the whole experience was relaxing and to be savoured to the full. A wonderful experience.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago

The palette of food was amazing , served and attended by the wonderful Diana , who was efficient, personable and friendly throughout. She is a credit to the standards of this fine restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked this tasting menu along with an overnight stay for my boyfriend’s birthday. We are big foodies and have done numerous Michelin starred tasting menus in the last, but were excited to venture outside of London. The service on arrival was very attentive and...the staff were warm and friendly. I do think you pay through the nose for the rooms, particularly as the hotel does not have any spa, gym or other leisure activities. My main gripe occurred at dinner. We had a table booked for 7:30pm and left our room just before. On arriving into the reception we were asked if we wanted to have a pre dinner drink in the lounge, to which I explained that our booking was at 7:30pm and I did not want to be late. We were seated at our table a few minutes after 7:30pm and provided with the tasting menu for the evening and a wine list. The waitress came and took away the tasting menu and asked if we had any allergies and I asked for a couple more minutes to decide upon the wine, before deciding to opt for the wine pairing. By now the time is around 7:40pm. The sommelier arrived a few minutes later and poured our first glass of wine. He seemed surprised that we had not been provided with the amuse bouche and said that as this first wine was to accompany the amuse bouche, first and second courses he would return to ensure we had sufficient wine, to which he did and I was very thankful. We proceeded to wait for our food. After a further ten minutes, I told my boyfriend that I would ask for an update on our food. In his jovial manner he suggested we wait...as in his words...how long can a two Michelin starred restaurant keep you waiting....the answer is 30minutes from when we sat down. There were four other tables in our area (one table who were sat after us) who all managed to complete two food courses and commence a third before we finally received our amuse bouche at 8pm without any comment or apology for the wait; I was truly astounded. I am not sure if the fact that we were at least ten years younger than the next guests influenced the lack of service, but this really was not a demonstration of a two Michelin starred restaurant.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having planned a few days holiday in the Cotswolds I decided to fulfil my culinary ambition by booking in for the lunchtime 6 course tasting menu. The whole experience was faultless maybe with the exception of the Risotto of wild mushrooms which was a little...heavy on the parmesan for my taste. Nevertheless a fantastic treat only slightly marred by the horrendously exorbitant cost of it all. Cost of a Fever Tree tonic at my local £2; Le Manoir £5.95.No cooking required.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our third visit in 7 years - all for special anniversaries. From arrival to departure, everything was organised to give reassurance under the current guidelines. The whole team wore face shields at all times. The 7 course tasting menu was better than ever...- every course very special. One of the great things about Le Manoir is it's complete lack of pretentiousness. Allied with the humour, helpfulness and efficiency of everybody, the whole experience was very enjoyable. Chapeau to the kitchen brigade for the quality of the food despite having to wear face shields in the kitchen and congratulations to the front of house team for their service. And now to look forward to the next special anniversary.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Through all the many years of relishing meals at Le Manoir I do not think we ever have had a more perfect experience! The last time we came was the night immediately before lockdown so I was longing for a touch of luxury. The restaurant...had been adapted for social distancing, the smiling, friendly service came from those behind visors, the menu has been much curtailed but the quality of food was outstanding. I started with one of my favourites, garden beets with horseradish and sorrel and it was superb. My husband has Orkney scallops with iced dashi (a sort of Japanese broth) and citrus. I nibbled a slice of scallop from his plate and it was sublime. I then had a garden courgette flower bathed in tempura with pea and mint jus. This dish not only was artistic in presentation but was exciting and delicious to eat – an inspiration. My husband had perfectly fading-pink loin of lamb which he pronounced wonderful. I then indulged in a version of peach Melba which was heavenly. I also should mention that any meal at Le Manoir never is without tiny unsolicited tasters of rare quality both before the starter and sometimes before the main course. I have pictured one offering although I cannot describe it except it was beautifully flavoured. We took our coffee and digestifs in the bar where also we were given some gorgeous, sweet canapés and my requested espresso martini was perfect. We stayed the night about which I write elsewhere.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 August 2020 via mobile

We visited in January and promised we’d return in the summer. Staff wearing visors didn’t detract from the experience. Afternoon tea was excellent (we had 1 shared between two) because later we had the first of two superb tasting menus. My partner doesn’t like mushrooms...in the truffled egg so RB’s favourite vegetable risotto was substituted. She was delighted. Wine flight Selection Prestige was well matched. Second day tea and G&T on the lawn in the sunshine was spectacular. Different tasting menu second night but equally brilliant cooking (and the risotto was included). Beautiful room and the settings are fantastic. The staff are outstanding; friendly and attentive without being intrusive, always remembering us by name. The informal dress code espoused by RB means that although the hotel and the restaurant are out of this world you can sit in the lounge, eat the finest food and just feel at home. We love it. I almost forgot. The breakfasts are delicious too; Oeufs Bénédict, my favourite run close by the Petit Dejeuner Anglais.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 August 2020

We come for a summer lunch every year and it was as enjoyable as ever. Sitting outside in the garden for a pre lunch drink we were shown into the restaurant and the conservatory area which is so light and bright. It is such a...lovely venue. The tasting menu was excellent as one would expect. We enjoyed every course and the added delight is not feeling over full at the end of it as it is not full of heavy dishes. Difficult to pick out a favourite dish but the vegetable risotto is just so good. We had our coffee and tea in one of the lounges after lunch and then before we left we had a stroll around the substantial vegetable garden and then the Japanese garden. We will try to be back before next summer.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 August 2020 via mobile

The last time I ate here was 2 years ago and it was the best food I have ever eaten in the U.K. I even checked in the hotel for the night with my wife this time to get a table due to Covid restrictions....We were in one of the small rooms which normally would have 8 to 10 tables but was restricted to 4. Even so the ambience created was first class. Waiters being forced to wear face shields did not deter them from providing fantastic service throughout the meal. We had the 7 course tasting menu with classic wine pairing. There are other more premium wine pairing options but the classic was suitable for us. Being summer it was a very light menu but don’t be fooled. Raymond’s portion sizes are deceivingly large and we found ourselves quite full by the end. This is also helped by the off the charts good bread served at the beginning of the meal. My favourite courses were the monkfish, the scallops and the chocolate and beetroot dessert courses but frankly all were superb. My wife isn’t a fan of truffle so one of her dishes was replaced with a vegetable risotto. She thought this was the highlight of all the dishes. Wine pairing excellent. Service excellent. The style of cooking here is all about great produce and great flavours. Not really served with any theatre. Just about the Food.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 20 August 2020

A fabulous hotel with beautiful gardens and an excellent staff. Palatial rooms with large bathrooms. We had the seven course evening tasting which was absolutely magical, so tasty. Everything in the hotel was clean and welcoming. A once in a lifetime experience. Thankyou

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Abingdon hotel
436 reviews
15.23 km away
The Fox Country Inn
370 reviews
14.88 km away
The Kings Hotel
622 reviews
14.50 km away
George Hotel
330 reviews
13.04 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Table D'Alix At The Plough
38 reviews
1.29 km away
The Lamb Inn
182 reviews
1.76 km away
Harry Ramsden
183 reviews
2.42 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Raymond Blanc Cookery School
124 reviews
.00 km away
The Oxford Belfry Spa
196 reviews
2.54 km away
Waterstock Golf Club
5 reviews
2.73 km away
Waterperry Gardens
323 reviews
3.80 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jet66934595827
9 September 2020|
Answer
Response from Epicureously | Reviewed this property |
Maybe visit the website or contact the hotel. We only had dinner. You can only have dinner if you are staying at the hotel. Don’t know if that’s the case for lunch.
0
Votes
ear42
27 June 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jill N | Reviewed this property |
Booking for lunch you can do via the website. Click on the heading 'Dining' where you can find sample lunch menus and booking. You can also do it by telephone. You can spend a good hour walking around the beautiful gardens... More
0
Votes
SianiWms
15 February 2020|
Answer
Response from Danielworldtraveler | Reviewed this property |
No idea, ask directly at the hotel
-1
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing