We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

L'Auberge De L'Ill

Claimed
Save
Share
MICHELIN 2020
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 07/10
20:00
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitized menus
Read more
Updated 16/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$118 - US$294
CUISINES
French, European, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

It was originally only a small inn on the banks of the Ill, appreciated for its matelote made with Riesling. Over the course of the 20C, the Haeberlin ...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
Two MICHELIN Stars: Excellent cooking, worth a detour!
Luxurious restaurant; one of our most delightful places.
Sponsored by: L'Auberge De L'Ill

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Lovely
1. Lovely
"The restaurant looks great and the location is perfect."
KayleneHayes
See reviews that mention Lovely
2. Outstanding
2. Outstanding
"Set in such a beautiful village with so much family history."
starangel20
See reviews that mention Outstanding
3. A fantastic experience
3. A fantastic experience
"We love this jewl restaurant and the wonderful people who operate it"
Markel52
See reviews that mention A fantastic experience
Reviews (1,842)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
243
27
13
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
243
27
13
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foie gras tasting menu amuse bouche salmone mousseline mignardises chicken bread pastry frog legs the river three star star restaurant beautiful garden black truffle an aperitif glass of champagne
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

elegant and cosy perfect service outdoor at the river Ill seating and indoor we had le foie gras, petit kougelhopf € 63 phantastic les lngoustines poelees sur une declinasion de courges € 85 extraordinaire! l‘entrecorte de boeuf de salers € 85 perfect le saumon ssouffle...€ 50 a must 1 nbottle riesling bott freres € 63 1 fernet branca € 10 always a wonderful experience at the Auberge d‘ IllMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 6 November 2019

It’s perfect! All the food is amazing and divine, except maybe the truffle main dish just 4 stars out of 5 and could be better. Very friendly and professional staff. Beautiful decor. Price is very reasonable given this high quality. Absolutely no idea why it...lost a star when it’s obviously Michelin 3 star all the way. We are already planning to go back next year!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?8  
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is so beautiful. Views were absolutely breathtaking. We would definitely return when we are back for another trip. Thank you all of the staff who were excellent.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

The food was wonderful and the service was even better at this restaurant. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and the wine list was very extensive at honest prices for a two-star Michelin restaurant. We will definitely be back and stay at the hotel connected with...the restaurant.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 July 2020

this place remind me one of the best holiday of my life. amazing location and simply delicious food. very attentive service

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 June 2020

Already in the late 1960 this Restaurant run by the Haeberlin Brothers had 3 Michelin Stars. I always during 50 years I wanted to dine there. Finally on Friday June 26th I made it. I stayed at their wonderful hotel and my wife an had...The dinner of our life. She choose the Vegetarian Menu while I took Menu Haeberlin. Each dish was a sensation of taste, unexpected and extraordinary. Never tasted something similar during my long life. The son Haeberlin who now runs the kitchen is as talented as his father was. It was worth the 50 years of waiting. I hope I will be able to come back sooner. This is a 7 Star Restaurant! Great Dining in a beautiful nature next to the slow floating river.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 25 February 2020

Views were absolutely breathtaking. We would definitely return when we are back in France. Thank you all of the staff who were excellent.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?7  
Reviewed 8 December 2019

When we were living in Alsace and traveling there fairly often, this was our favorite restaurant. And it's great again - a wonderful evening, with great and creative food and helpful staff.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 18 November 2019

We were there to spend a week end for our 50 th wedding anniversary. It was not the first time we visit this restaurant and each time we enjoy the artistic way of presenting the food , not forgetting the marvelous taste coming up to...our brain. .More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?6  
Reviewed 7 November 2019

The restaurant looks great and the location is perfect.The staff and a beautiful design makes the difference...

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hostellerie Schwendi
391 reviews
12.02 km away
Le Clos des Sources
1,207 reviews
10.98 km away
Auberge Ramstein
120 reviews
11.95 km away
Le Relais du Ried Hotel - Restaurant et Spa
508 reviews
10.25 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Au Nid de Cigognes
153 reviews
5.35 km away
VitisBar
295 reviews
5.99 km away
Winstub du Village
149 reviews
6.39 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Spa des Saules
23 reviews
.09 km away
Le Mur des Cigognes
7 reviews
5.38 km away
Porte Haute
57 reviews
5.97 km away
Domaine Fernand Engel
26 reviews
6.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jufedem
14 November 2017|
Answer
Response from jufedem |
Maha teresa habaybeh good
0
Votes
jufedem
14 November 2017|
Answer
Response from jufedem |
great
0
Votes
hufilawup
9 September 2017|
Answer
Response from jufedem |
Also Maha habaybeh and her son justin habaybeh
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing